Scrolling Notification

When I get time, I listen to music, or read books. If any is left, I blog!

Tuesday 21 September 2010

National Sins

Cardinal Sins or the Seven Deadly Sins, since time immemorial were considered objectionable attributes to sinful behaviour and unhappiness. These sins were also believed to be the real cause of separation from God.

Dante Alighieri (1265 - 1321) the Italian poet, in his 'Divine Comedy' referred to them as 'offences of love for earthly goods'. He proposed three categories - Perverted Love (Pride, Envy and Wrath), Insufficient Love (Sloth), and Excessive Love (Greed, Gluttony and Lust).

Hindu scriptures, the fountainhead of universal wisdom exhort that man can attain enlightenment only when he sheds sixteen bad qualities, namely the six internal enemies (ari-shad-varga), eight forms of pride (ashta­-mada) and the twin qualities of restlessness and inertia (rajas-tamo-guna).

If you feel relieved, the survey which covered 35 countries, left India out of its purview, you sure are not alone!
 -  March 2010

No comments:

Post a Comment